When you block someone’s phone number on iPhone or Android devices, you’ll stop unwanted calls and save a lot of time. However, have you ever tried to know what actually happens when a blocked number tries to call you?
Do people know that you blocked their numbers? And what about sending text messages, do they still able to text you? And also, what will really happen if a blocked number send you a voicemail, how do you find it and can the other end see that he was blocked by you? We’ll answer all these questions in this article, so, keep reading and share this information and tips with your friends, so, they know what they do.
What happens when a blocked number text you?
If a blocked number tries to send you a text message, the person will never see delivered in the majority of the cases. However, the person may see delivered, but in both cases, the other end will never receive these messages. So, this is what will happen if a blocked number text you: he will see Sent, but we won’t know if the message was received by you or not, and of course, you’ll never get that message in a cell phone or landline.
- Related reading: Report a number that keeps calling
Keep in mind that all this is only valid for US phone companies. So, if you’re outside the USA, you’ll notice different thing. For example, when a blocked person sends a text message, it won’t be sent, and there will be no delivery notification and of course, that number won’t receive that message.
In general, there is no difference between a notification that caller hear or get when he calls with iPhone, Android Samsung or other devices. It’s a carrier level things that no one can modify or tweak. So, the person will see the same thing on all smartphones.
- He will send a message and may or may not see “delivered”
- You’ll not get the message
What happens if someone you blocked calls you?
Now, on the other side, if someone you blocked tries to call you, he’ll hear a single beep, then, he will be asked to leave a voicemail. Thus, the person you blocked will never know that you blocked his number. And for his send voice mail, you’ll not receive a notification saying that someone sent you a voicemail. But you can find that message in a special folder called “blocked messages” in your inbox.
So, here is what happens if your girlfriend, boyfriend or anyone you blocked calls you:
- He will hear one single beep
- Then immediately we will get the voicemail message
- You’ll not get a voicemail notification
- You can check voicemails from a blocked number under “deleted messages”
Again, this may not be the same for other countries, for example, we tested two phone numbers, one blocked and one not. When we tried to call with the blocked number, we got the busy number beep. So, it looks like many phone carriers in other countries will enable the busy line beep instead if let it ring normally. Unfortunately, that’s not the way it should work.
The reason is this, when someone you already blocked calls you, he’ll notice that busy phone number beep all the time. Then, he’ll know that you’ve blocked him. So, there will be no voicemail like what happens in the United States.
Do people know that you’ve blocked them?
If someone is a spammer and caller lots of people before you, chances are, others have blocked him. So, he may have tried to find out what happened and learned how to know if he was blocked. So, for some who use the phone normally, he won’t see that the other side blocked him. However, in other countries, if the blocked person hires the busy line beeps all the time, then, it will be clear to him that you’ve blocked his number anyways.
- Best Free Apps that Change your Phone Number - July 15, 2019
- Can you Find out Who Someone is by their Cell Phone Number? - June 11, 2018